Perspectives
Inspiration & Sports

33 (Thirty-Three)

thirty three pix33. Thirty-three. Sanse-san (in Chinese). That’s my age starting yesterday (June 27). Celebrated it with my wife and baby David at Medical City. David was confined for four and a half days due to fever, diarrhea and vomiting.

But as David also got discharged last night, I took the time to celebrate this milestone with my wife at SM Megamall and watched Transformers 2.

My birthday was like a blur. We drove out of Medical City around past 6 in the evening, dressed up for our date, arrived at the mall before 8 p.m., ate and watched movie.

One thing I realized, a birthday celebration ends in just a few hours, but how I lived each day of my birth is what truly matter.

At age 33 and beyond, there are several things I hope and want to accomplish:

  • write books that could inspire people and point them back to God, the True Source of hope and life;
  • jog with my wife and kids (when they learn how to jog as they grow up);
  • everyday say, I Love You to my wife;
  • teach my wife, Bea and David the importance of studying, speaking and writing Chinese;
  • teach college athletes that a career in any sport (basketball, taekwondo, volleyball, etc.) is a mere “breath”—you’re great today, but a has-been tomorrow—but a life completely devoted to honoring God makes them a champion in life and for life.

33…I know there’s a whole lot more that God wants me to do. I’m excited with life.

I was reminded of these passages I read a few days ago. And this is my prayer for the rest of my life…

Psalm 92:13-15, “13 planted in the house of the Lord, they will flourish in the courts of our God. 14 They will still bear fruit in old age, they will stay fresh and green, proclaiming, ‘The Lord is upright; he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.’” 

No Responses to “33 (Thirty-Three)”

Leave a Reply

