Perspectives
Inspiration & Sports

Gold Rush In The Bible!

I’m enjoying reading the Bible even more and more these days!

enjoy bibleThere’s something in me that God has quicken to life, which has made me long for the word more than ever.

As I read Psalm 119 for the past three days, I felt like I couldn’t get enough of the word.

And here’s a verse that made me consider what I’m reading one morning—Psalm 119:14: “I rejoice in following your statues as one rejoices in great riches.

The word of God is compared to how people respond when they possess great riches—could be a gold bar, a 24-carat gold, a sparkling diamond, US100 million… name anything that is of great, great, great value.

Question: How would you respond if someone gives you US$100 million in a heavy luggage?

Me? I’ll probably have my wife douse me with a pail of ice-cold water 20 times so I’d start believing!

But seriously, how we respond when something really, really great and valuable is within our possession, should be the kind of response we give in reading the word of God.

Riches, like any other thing in this world, pass away.

Matthew 24:35 says, Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.

But God’s word is eternal (Psalm 119:89), it’s valuable and it changes us forever.

So make it a commitment to turn on the pages of your Bible. Read it. Meditate on it. Dive into its “bottomless amount of treasure”.

It will change you. It will inspire you. It will even change that way you view life for the better.

No Responses to “Gold Rush In The Bible!”

Leave a Reply

