Perspectives
Inspiration & Sports

To Whom Do We Base Our Confidence?

Joshua and the Israelites in the Bible were on a mission to conquer the Promised Land. But they had to do it in a way that would require far more than just their little or no military experience.

For one, Moses their leader for decades was already dead.  And Joshua, Moses’ long-time aide was thrust into the spotlight to fill in the shoes of the esteemed Israelite leader.

Joshua was no super-human. He knew that the task of leading the Israelites to the Promised Land was huge.  Yet, the Lord spoke to him and encouraged him.

In Joshua 1:5, the Lord gave a promise, a promise founded on His faithfulness and not on Joshua’s abilities or faith.

“No one will be able to stand up against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

I_see-godThat’s certainly a confidence-building statement to start one’s military and leadership career.

The Lord Himself, promised to never leave him nor forsake him. It’s like God telling Joshua, I Am your confidence. I won’t leave you. I am your hope.

Honestly, in my eight years of marriage, there had been  many instances that I have a face-to-face encounter with fear or anxiety or worry.

They tend to cast a giant shadow on me as I walk by faith. Yet, the great thing about Joshua’s account, we are reminded of a God who is Faithful to the core.

When we summarize the Bible, we can see that it is a story of how a Faithful God rescued, redeemed and embraced with love a faithless and rebellious world.

God is in the business of extending His faithfulness to your life.

No matter what we face today, whether you are discouraged and your hope almost zero, or your faith is just so-so as you start 2013, we can hold on with full confidence on God because His faithfulness is our hope in every circumstance we face.

Photo Source: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_Rdx-pEIDnsk/TU5HU9HBl6I/AAAAAAAAAQ4/8HvGT5Nvypo/s320/I_see-god.jpg

No Responses to “To Whom Do We Base Our Confidence?”

Leave a Reply

